My first pregnancy

Hello everyone, I am back with some new content and ideas as I am a mother now and life has completely changed hence, my blog needs changing too,  just so I can reflect my true self.

I have decided to start from the beginning.

The reason I have decided to talk about my journey to motherhood and everything around it is so I can share my experience and who knows it might help someone out there.

Grab a cup of a tea, and it begins….

Our pregnancy was planned as we thought there is never that “perfect” time to start a family and let’s just jump in….. ALLHUMDULILAH it happened very quick for us we have been very blessed and lucky in this sense, there it was those two very faint lines on the stick and we couldn’t believe it I remember my husband saying you are just seeing stuff, stop thinking about it but I knew there is something up so I kept doing the strip test every morning until a week, I remember I would buy some stick on my way to work everyday and do it there to check if its getting any darker and they became very obvious but we were still n denial so had to get the digital clear blue confirming it, which is pretty much in your face “PREGNANT”.

We took an hour or so to ourselves and soon shared the news with our immediate families I never wanted to hide this amazing news from my parents or siblings as I believe whats meant to happen, happens anyway so lets just enjoy the moment.

As I live in UK and if you go with NHS there is a proper system about how things work. So as first time pregnant couple we went to see the GP thinking ohhh what will happen, the GP doctor was very chilled out and just congratulated us and asked me about my last period date so she can guess the time of arrival yeyyyy (which was wrong). Doctor told us to wait for our three months scan now. I tell you those three months are so strange, stressful and weird because you are freaking out if everything is fine with the baby, all you do is throw up through out the day and feel sick I don’t know why its called morning sickness when it happens all day and night and the excitement knowing you are pregnant.

I was working at that time and taking bus to work my sickness just got so bad I would get off on random bus stops and throw up and get back on next bus, eventually I decided to leave work until I decide to go back and rest up! it was tough being at home all day I tell you when one is so used to being mentally occupied from 9-5 you find it difficult to have nothing to think about apart from the pregnancy and thoughts that come with it.

We finally had our scan and little baby was jumping just about everywhere and the due date was confirmed. Months passed by very quickly i’d say first two trimesters were amazing  no stretch marks, healthy skin, shiny thick hair and I was growing a healthy baby and enjoying every bit of it. I stayed as active as I was before, made sure I rest and eat whatever I felt like.

Fast forward…. came the third trimester and I started noticing one, two, three and then a web of stretch marks even though I looked after my skin in every way possible but they baby just grows and grows so rapidly in third trimester that your body does change alot which is very normal, I slowed down a bit in third trimester and so did the time haha…

One night I woke up from bad itching stretch marks by bad I mean I felt like scratching my skin off with my nails but that just made them worse and inflamed, so I went to see the doctor and she said oh its PEP (Pruritic urticarial papules) 1 in 10 women get it in UK and congrats you are that ONE! so you can’t really do much except moisturize all the time and wait for baby’s evacuation. I have linked here (link) what PEP is incase you want to read about it.

Third trimester was very tough I’d say, as its suppose to be baby was growing, bump felt so heavy I couldn’t sleep at night properly, back would hurt all the time and then lightening pains in pelvis. It was just a waiting game then, my due date came and went but my cosy little baby was warm and cosy in there.

My midwife who’s a lovely lady offered me a ” membrane  sweep” (link)  which I was dreading as soon as I crossed my due date, I have linked it above if you would like to know what it is. I went for it and my midwife mentioned I might need another one as my cervix isnt “ripe” yet, I didn’t take that easy and asked my husband to get me two fish filet meals from McDonald’s on our way back home and yes I did finish them both, went to bed straight after.

As mentioned  I went for second membrane sweep the following week and I was 41 weeks pregnant then, my midwife also booked me for induction just incase I don’t give birth by 42 weeks, it’s just a process they have to follow which totally freaked me out as I assumed in my head my baby will be with us before due date.

 

Well I didn’t go in for induction and gave birth just a day before I was booked in for it. So this is my summarized pregnancy journey leading up to birth, I will be sharing my Birth experience in upcoming days let me know  if anyone of you ladies had similar or close enough experience.

 

Loads of love

Affia

x x

 

 

 

We

Leave a comment